Merge on save

Last modified by Simon Urli on 2019/06/11

Continuing the work started on XWiki 11.1 to warn users when performing conflicting edits on the same page, we finally implemented a merge on save mechanism.

This means that in case of conflict edition (two users saving the same document at the same time), instead of always displaying a window to the user asking what to do, we first try to perform a merge of both document. If the changes concerned two very different parts of the document (two different sections, an edit performed on an object against an edit of the content, etc) the user won't notice that a merge has been performed.

Now, some conflicts might still occur if both users tried to edit the same part of the document. In that case, a new window is displayed asking the user what to do.
The user will now have three different choices:

  • Merge the document and fix conflict with his/her own changes: this means that as much as possible, we try to merge the changes. Only for the part that are conflicting, we only kept the changes from the last user. This is the recommended choice.
  • Force save the document: this means no merge at all will be performed. Only the changes performed by the last user will be saved. It basically discards the changes made by the previous user.
  • Reload the editor: this choice might be taken very carefully as it might cause a loss of data. It means that the current changes performed on the document will be completely lost and the editor will be reloaded with the last changes.

The conflict window now display the changes that will be performed for each choices. Be careful with the parts in red since it shows what part of the document will be lost during the operation. Note that it's also possible to select two specific versions of the document to perform a comparison before making a choice.

Tags:
Created by Simon Urli on 2019/06/11
   

Get Connected